Author Topic: Fluke 179 worth it?  (Read 5346 times)

Offline doomsterTopic starter

Fluke 179 worth it?
« on: March 10, 2013, 07:13:34 pm »
hello everyone,

this is my first post :) I am dimitris. i work in IT Support Buisness . as an extra im running a home bench buisness repairing industrial equipment,gathering a small extra income. My kid recently destroyed an old mastech multimeter i had on  my bench.
I saw an Fluke 179 DMM for 200euros (about 250$) on a local store. I need a bit more accuracy than the mastech  |(i  checked mastech's accuracy recently using a hammeg olliscope to doublecheck the measurements, and i was a bit dissapointed ) , and i think i would like Hz and Temp measurements as well.

Does it worth the money? is it a good investment for my bench ?

Thank you in advance :)

EDIT: Lol 1st post and on a wrong category :) Plz mods move it to Test Equipment   :):) sorry for the inconvinience :)
« Last Edit: March 10, 2013, 07:19:47 pm by doomster »

Offline retiredcaps

• Super Contributor
Re: Fluke 179 worth it?
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2013, 10:13:43 pm »
I saw an Fluke 179 DMM for 200euros (about 250$) on a local store.

Does it worth the money? is it a good investment for my bench ?
I don't know the local currency and all the VAT taxes, but an used 179 on ebay costs around $125 to $150 USD.  A new one on Amazon.com is $258 USD.

Offline rsjsouza

• Super Contributor
  • Eternally curious
    • Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2013, 12:56:24 am »
I have a 179 and I can say it is a war tank and it has a great responsiveness in its auto-range. Since you are interested in repairing industrial equipment, safety is also a concern and you can't go wrong with it.

Check here some internal photos I took a while ago and, if you scroll down you can check the excellent reviews from Martin J Lorton.