Author Topic: Open Source Medical Device Project  (Read 15129 times)

Offline occammanTopic starter

Open Source Medical Device Project
« on: October 06, 2021, 02:00:57 am »
I (an EE-turned-Systems-Engineer) have teamed up with a neuro-anesthesiologist to start a project to develop an open-source EEG. It will initially be used for research on optimizing anesthesia to minimize complications. Ultimately we'll have an FDA-cleared clinical device.

(Before you ask/EEsplain :D... Yes, I know that medical devices are "special" - I develop them for a living.)

We believe that open-source medical devices will be safer and less expensive, with the extra benefit of enabling medical innovation. Details on the project, and why it will lead to better devices, can be found at our GitHub site here: https://github.com/VolksEEG/VolksEEG.

For more info, I discussed this project last week on the Embedded.fm podcast: https://embedded.fm/episodes/388 (Not showing favoritism... I'd be happy to discuss it on The Amp Hour, too!)

We're looking for an EE to help on schematics and layout - since the design uses an "EEG-in-a-chip", the ADS1299, design is not particularly complex.

Please wish us luck!
« Last Edit: October 06, 2021, 02:03:07 am by occamman »

Online SteveyG

• Supporter
  • Soldering Equipment Guru
Re: Open Source Medical Device Project
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2021, 02:21:19 pm »
Several questions:
What up-front work have you done for your DHF? It looks like you're expecting to start straight away with the detailed design, but I see no evidence of the earlier work which would be required for submission to the FDA. 
I also don't see any specifications and thus no means to design with V&V in mind.

What device classification are you aiming for?
Software safety class?

You mention EEG machines are "lower safety risk", but for a device, this is entirely dependant on how the device and data is used. 
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/sdgelectronics/