Author Topic: Open source smartphone - is it feasible?  (Read 16368 times)

Offline Pensive__JellyfishTopic starter

Open source smartphone - is it feasible?
« on: May 24, 2020, 10:23:19 pm »
Hi everyone!

I hope that my question isn't too trivial as I am a physicist and not really knowledgeable in electronics.

Today I was trying to inform myself about privacy protections of the Covid-19 contact tracking apps (the apps to identify potentially dangerous contacts). While they do seem promising to me, since open-source projects seem to be seriously developed, I was wondering: is this really useful when the phone hardware itself can be compromised? Is it possible to check it is not? And could a viable open source hardware phone be developed, so that checking becomes much easier?
I think that with these new tracking needs, these questions have become even more important, if not technically, at least because of the "cultural push" for surveillance.

Hoping that my message was in the right section, I thank you for your patience ;)

Offline nuclearcat

• Supporter
Re: Open source smartphone - is it feasible?
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2020, 10:30:03 pm »
I think it is not about open source hardware, but more open source software. You can get most from flashing in compatible phone LineageOS.

All mobile phones have big problem - they have to deal with obscure and not very open 3GPP standard, which is implemented mostly by "giants" who are not interested to open baseband stack.
In best case you will hook some SIM800 or similar module, hook raspberry, and get heavy brick that will make everybody around frightened, and which is not really comfortable to use.
There is no really working opensource hardware of baseband, except some obsolete stuff.
So, as i said before, check LineageOS, it will give you much higher degree of privacy without losing all comfort.

Offline Pensive__JellyfishTopic starter

« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2020, 09:30:09 pm »