Author Topic: OSHW Hosting  (Read 18333 times)

Offline ratdude747Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
OSHW Hosting
« on: December 23, 2014, 02:10:25 am »
Idiot Question:

I have a project I need to host somewhere, which I intend to be OSHW.

The issue I'm having is hosting the files... I've tried google code and github but I'm a complete noob to git and can't figure it out for the life of me.  |O

For Electronic hardware, where (free preferably) can I host and update the files (original sources and PDF/gerber files)? If I have to learn Git, I will... but I'd prefer to focus my energy elsewhere.

Suggestions?

Offline zapta

• Super Contributor
Re: OSHW Hosting
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2014, 02:18:30 am »
Idiot Question:

I have a project I need to host somewhere, which I intend to be OSHW.

The issue I'm having is hosting the files... I've tried google code and github but I'm a complete noob to git and can't figure it out for the life of me.  |O

For Electronic hardware, where (free preferably) can I host and update the files (original sources and PDF/gerber files)? If I have to learn Git, I will... but I'd prefer to focus my energy elsewhere.

Suggestions?

You could publish using dropbox (you can share link to folders and files) but will loose the versioning of github and google code. IIRC google code supports also friendlier versioning systems but git is the defacto standard.

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2014, 02:27:19 am »
You could set up a free blog site:
https://www.blogger.com/home
There are others.
Git is awful for basic stuff, I don't blame you for avoiding.

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2014, 06:19:16 pm »
How about here:
http://www.ohwr.org/
The Wiki-based setup of the site makes is a real PITA to navigate and find things though.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

Offline c4757p