Author Topic: The problem I have with closed (access) papers  (Read 18556 times)

Offline mark03

• Frequent Contributor
Re: The problem I have with closed (access) papers
« Reply #75 on: January 07, 2019, 04:30:37 pm »
Unfortunately I can’t access my papers freely even if I want to thanks to the damn paywall. So as an author I offer condolences. I have to give the society copyright if I want to be published so thems the rules. Ugh. Fail

This is interesting. I'm sure it varies by publisher. Let's look at three.

Thanks for the nice summary.  However, as a practical matter, I have never known there to be an issue with authors posting preprints of their IEEE papers on personal web sites.  If everyone did that, we'd be some distance toward solving this problem.  Personally, as primary author of a couple of Transactions papers and a handful of conference papers, I consider it my moral duty to make those papers available outside the IEEE paywall.  I don't think most researchers in academia really think about this because their experience of accessing papers online is pretty frictionless---no login required, you're automatically in based on your IP address.

Offline Marco

• Super Contributor
« Reply #76 on: January 07, 2019, 10:59:32 pm »
Pre-prints generally yes. The problem is that it's academically irresponsible to not use the paper as accepted (ie. accepted manuscripts) for reference.

That battle has been won too for homepages as far as Elsevier is concerned, but homepages come and go. The final line in the sand of publishers is to keep the accepted manuscripts out of trustworthy repositories for as long and as much as possible. In some areas they have been less than successful (arXiv or RePEc in the case of Elsevier, but those do not cover all fields as I said before).