Author Topic: The TangiBot 3D Printer, a clone of Makerbot Replicator  (Read 30511 times)

Online Mechatrommer

• Super Contributor
  • reassessing directives...
Re: The TangiBot 3D Printer, a clone of Makerbot Replicator
« Reply #50 on: August 15, 2012, 03:50:06 pm »
Why not print a 3-D printer?
So you have a free one :-)
why not print more? so you have a free one, and sell more at much cheaper price :D
Nature: Evolution and the Illusion of Randomness (Stephen L. Talbott): Its now indisputable that... organisms “expertise” contextualizes its genome, and its nonsense to say that these powers are under the control of the genome being contextualized - Barbara McClintock

Offline joseph.anand

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #51 on: August 15, 2012, 04:40:55 pm »
I am not a mechanical engineer, but I think the quality of 3d printed gears is not likely to be as good as the injection molded ones. At the very least they may be good enough for some robotics/mechatronics projects. So while you may have a 3d printed printer, it may not be less precise than the original.

Offline FJV

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #52 on: August 15, 2012, 04:52:45 pm »
I disagree. Being able to put something together cheaper is also innovation. 15 years ago my first HP laserprinter (professional grade) cost me approx. €1200. Last year I bought a new professional grade HP laserprinter for €200. Not only is it cheaper but it has a several neat features like double-sided printing and a network interface.

IMHO it is a good thing that people try to market quality 3D printers for lower prices. Once they become affordable for the big masses the prices will get lower and the number of features will go through the roof. I bet that within a few years someone will come up with a way to print using aluminium or even steel.