EEVblog > Other Blogs

Video Blog Entry: A History of PC Buses - From ISA to PCI Express


Published on Oct 21, 2015

This presentation explains the major expansion buses used by the PC platform up until PCI Express between the years of 1981 to 2004:

1) Introduction
2-4) ISA (Industry Standard Architecture)
5-6) MCA (Micro Channel Architecture)
7-9) EISA (Extended Industry Standard Architecture
10-12) VLB (VESA Local Bus)
13-17) PCI (Peripheral Component Interconnect)
18-20) PCI-X (Peripheral Component Interconnect - Extended)
21-24) PCI Express
25) Summary

This is the 2nd of many videos explaining practical concepts surrounding high-speed board design, FPGA digital design as well as software engineering.

I currently accept new consulting projects. To contact me, please email or visit and send me a message.


[0] Message Index

There was an error while thanking
Go to full version
Powered by SMFPacks Advanced Attachments Uploader Mod