Author Topic: Arduino: variant.cpp JSON etc. HELP  (Read 1773 times)

Offline JesterTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Arduino: variant.cpp JSON etc. HELP
« on: April 08, 2021, 01:44:15 pm »
    Hi,

Context:
    • I'm an engineer not a programmer
    • I'm okay with C language programming, less so with C++
    • I have developed a few custom boards using a Cortex SAMD21G, so similar to Arduino MKR ZERO with more pins in use
    • Wrote some Arduino code for the boards and it works great
    • To accomplish above I tweaked the original MKR ZERO variant files to use the extra pins and reassign some pins to other uses

The problem
As I switch from one project to the other I need to manage the various versions of variant.cpp and variant.h.
My understanding is that the proper way to this is to create a custom Arduino board using a JSON file, that's where things get fuzzy.

I did find this tutorial:  https://www.instructables.com/Arduino-IDE-Creating-Custom-Boards/
I'm at step 8

My questions

• Assuming I can figure out how to create a JSON file, is it necessary to post this with a URL? Can I not do this locally on my hard drive at least until I know that it works?
  • It's not clear to me if the JSON file is simply a zipped text file with the 70 or so lines in the example or more than that?
  • Am I better off just managing the various variant files, or is it worth completing the last couple of steps to actually create an Arduino custom board?

Thanks in advance
[/list]
« Last Edit: April 08, 2021, 01:47:05 pm by Jester »

Offline westfw

• Super Contributor
Re: Arduino: variant.cpp JSON etc. HELP
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2021, 04:52:27 am »
Assuming I can figure out how to create a JSON file, is it necessary to post this with a URL? Can I not do this locally on my hard drive at least until I know that it works?
It's easy enough to put on github or other site.