Products > Programming

assembler program to reset Nuvoton W83527HG watchdog

(1/5) > >>

m4rtin:
I have a motherboard which has a Nuvoton W83527HG chip(manual attached) which includes the watchdog functionality. When I enable the watchdog feature in UEFI, then the workstation resets with 300s interval as expected because nothing resets the watchdog from operating system. As I have no previous experience with assembler, then this seemed to be a good opportunity to learn. Based on the example in the manual on page 18 I ended up with following simple program:

--- Code: ---$ cat -n wd_reset.a
     1  ;-----------------------------------------------------
     2  ; Enter the Extended Function Mode
     3  ;-----------------------------------------------------
     4  MOV     DX,     0x2E
     5  MOV     AL,     0x87
     6  OUT     DX,     AL
     7  OUT     DX,     AL
     8  ;-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
     9  ; Configure Logical Device 8, Configuration Register CRF6
    10  ;-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    11  MOV     DX,     0x2E
    12  MOV     AL,     0x07
    13  OUT     DX,     AL   ; point to Logical Device Number Reg.
    14  MOV     DX,     0x2F
    15  MOV     AL,     0x08
    16  OUT     DX,     AL   ; select Logical Device 8
    17  ;
    18  MOV     DX,     0x2E
    19  MOV     AL,     0xF6
    20  OUT     DX,     AL   ; select CRF6
    21  MOV     DX,     0x2F
    22  MOV     AL,     0x01
    23  OUT     DX,     AL   ; update CRF6 with value 01H
    24  ;----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    25  ; Exit the Extended Function Mode
    26  ;----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    27  MOV     DX,     0x2E
    28  MOV     AL,     0xAA
    29  OUT     DX,     AL
$

--- End code ---