Author Topic: assembler program to reset Nuvoton W83527HG watchdog  (Read 3302 times)

Offline m4rtinTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
assembler program to reset Nuvoton W83527HG watchdog
« on: January 03, 2020, 09:46:31 pm »
I have a motherboard which has a Nuvoton W83527HG chip(manual attached) which includes the watchdog functionality. When I enable the watchdog feature in UEFI, then the workstation resets with 300s interval as expected because nothing resets the watchdog from operating system. As I have no previous experience with assembler, then this seemed to be a good opportunity to learn. Based on the example in the manual on page 18 I ended up with following simple program:

Code: [Select]
$ cat -n wd_reset.a
     1  ;-----------------------------------------------------
     2  ; Enter the Extended Function Mode
     3  ;-----------------------------------------------------
     4  MOV     DX,     0x2E
     5  MOV     AL,     0x87
     6  OUT     DX,     AL
     7  OUT     DX,     AL
     8  ;-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
     9  ; Configure Logical Device 8, Configuration Register CRF6
    10  ;-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    11  MOV     DX,     0x2E
    12  MOV     AL,     0x07
    13  OUT     DX,     AL   ; point to Logical Device Number Reg.
    14  MOV     DX,     0x2F
    15  MOV     AL,     0x08
    16  OUT     DX,     AL   ; select Logical Device 8
    17  ;
    18  MOV     DX,     0x2E
    19  MOV     AL,     0xF6
    20  OUT     DX,     AL   ; select CRF6
    21  MOV     DX,     0x2F
    22  MOV     AL,     0x01
    23  OUT     DX,     AL   ; update CRF6 with value 01H
    24  ;----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    25  ; Exit the Extended Function Mode
    26  ;----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    27  MOV     DX,     0x2E
    28  MOV     AL,     0xAA