Author Topic: Design a better "C"  (Read 32600 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Design a better "C"
« Reply #125 on: July 30, 2021, 09:21:59 pm »
Would be nice if the thread could get back on track, though.
HDLs, Python...?
Next thing you know, people are going to start talking about Javascript. Yeah, no.

I think part of the reason for thread drift is because there's a realization: how many patches can you apply to C before it's no longer C? And if that's the case, then why not start with a different language built from the ground up to address the issues? This latter point is why we see Swift taking off (pushed in no small part by the Cupertino Fruit Company) and Rust seems to be getting some interest.

Python doesn't solve any of C's problems, nor does Java.

As for HDLs, well, I'm sure everyone who does both VHDL and C has written this kind of thing in C and wondered why the program didn't work:

Code: [Select]
    if( foo /= bar) {
        doSomething();
    else
        doSomethingElse();
    }

Offline bd139

• Super Contributor
« Reply #126 on: July 30, 2021, 10:03:50 pm »
Would be nice if the thread could get back on track, though.
HDLs, Python...?
Next thing you know, people are going to start talking about Javascript. Yeah, no.

This is all I have to say on that subject.

Offline tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
« Reply #127 on: July 30, 2021, 10:16:25 pm »
... Or get somebody else to do it.

JavaScript is to browsers as C is to MCUs -a lowest common denominator intermediate language.
There are lies, damned lies, statistics - and ADC/DAC specs.
Glider pilot's aphorism: "there is no substitute for span". Retort: "There is a substitute: skill+imagination. But you can buy span".
Having fun doing more, with less

Offline bd139

• Super Contributor
« Reply #128 on: July 30, 2021, 10:28:09 pm »