Author Topic: General IDE to learn C++ on  (Read 17552 times)

Offline SimonTopic starter

• Global Moderator
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
General IDE to learn C++ on
« on: December 24, 2021, 11:41:26 am »
I have "the book" "Programming principles and practice using C++" by Bjarne Stroustrup. It has example and exercises and he recommends visual studio but this was in 2005. Visusual studio or whatever it is called now it rather bloated for running a few lines of code. Anything else worth using?

Offline djsb

• Frequent Contributor
Re: General IDE to learn C++ on
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2021, 12:14:59 pm »
I have that book also. Still got to start reading it though. You could try Notepad++

I have also tried WxDevC++ and Code Blocks. I started learning C by using LCC-WIN32 and have also tried PellesC as well.

Good luck.
David
Hertfordshire,UK
University Electronics Technician, London PIC,CCS C,Arduino,Kicad, Altium Designer,LPKF S103,S62 Operator, Electronics instructor. Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime. Credited Kicad French to English translator.

• Global Moderator
    • Simon's Electronics
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2021, 12:21:13 pm »
So does notepad++ handle calling the compiler etc or is it just an advanced text editor.

Offline Lindley

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2021, 12:31:57 pm »
You cannot get much simpler than the free Arduino IDE .

Are you intending to use the Arduino chips/boards or some other micros ?

Offline djsb

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2021, 12:37:55 pm »