Author Topic: Good learning resources for using I2C SRAM (I'm using a Bus Pirate) for a noob?  (Read 1205 times)

Online TERRA OperativeTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Voider of warranties
    • Near Far Media Youtube
I'm currently working on a project to read and write calibration data directly into the SRAM in a Tek AM503B Current Probe Amplifier using a Bus Pirate and IC clip, as the parts needed to do it the 'proper' way are no longer available.
I am a complete and utter noob at this sort of thing so I'm looking for some decent ground up info on talking to an SRAM chip over I2C.

Does anyone have any good links to info on this sort of thing that assume very little prior knowledge, or is anyone willing to teach me some stuff to get me going? My expertise in programming is primarily using solder so I have ALL the dumb questions to ask..... :)

Thanks!
Where does all this test equipment keep coming from?!?

https://www.youtube.com/NearFarMedia/

Offline ledtester

• Super Contributor
I would get an Arduino and learn how to program it to talk to an I2C device.

There will be a lot more resources available to you -- i.e. examples, people, forums -- if you use an Arduino. Here, for instance, is some example code to talk to an SRAM chip:

https://arduino-related.livejournal.com/1414.html

Post your progress here, and I'm sure we can solve whatever problem you run into.

Oh, and of course buy an SRAM chip to experiment on before attempting to modify the AM503B.  :)

• Super Contributor
  • Voider of warranties
    • Near Far Media Youtube
I already have the Bus Pirate and (with a big stretch of my skills) a batch file to talk to it, but no Arduino's to hand.
I just need to learn how to talk to the SRAM chip over I2C, I'm at a fundamentals level here..... :) I have it hooked up and I seem to be able to send some commands and get something in return, but not much more than that.