Author Topic: How To Incorporate a GUI in C  (Read 9721 times)

Offline bostonmanTopic starter

• Super Contributor
How To Incorporate a GUI in C
« on: December 20, 2023, 04:11:48 am »
I have a question about C. Being aware of C and having done a few basic programs (i.e. I'm a novice), I asked someone about a very basic compiler that didn't require lots of setting up. He recommended GCC Compiler For Windows which seems to suit my needs well.

Unlike when I tried Visual Studio years ago, I don't need to change several settings and still get compiling issues for programs I know are correct. GCC seems to compile very easy and the few programs I've run compile without needing to wonder if a setting needs to be changed. It has a few drawbacks such as being command line based, having to type the program in Notepad++ , etc... but still, it's decent.

My question is: how can I incorporate a GUI into C?

From reading, I see gtk2-runtime-2.24.10-2012-10-10-ash is something that allows a GUI to be used with GCC, however, I'm not having much luck. I've entered a program the website provided, but get compiling errors.

Also, the reading I've done shows any available GUIs for C are very basic. If so, since GUIs are used in Windows (and Linux), does this mean C++ needs to be incorporated into a C program (as a library?) to have a nicer GUI?

Offline ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: How To Incorporate a GUI in C
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2023, 04:50:05 am »
Anything that is not "basic" will take time to figure out. If you stop at "it gives me errors", you will not go far. Read the errors and figure what they mean, then fix them.

GTK is a full framework, it is big and complicated. For simpler things you can use something like ImGUI or even direct WinAPI calls.

GUIs always suck, there is no one "easy" solution, it all depends on your needs. This is why a lot of new software just uses Electron or similar web-based UIs.