Author Topic: Linux:: how to synchronize the main with a thread in C  (Read 2672 times)

Offline 0dbTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Linux:: how to synchronize the main with a thread in C
« on: March 30, 2020, 06:30:16 pm »
hi guys
I am still studying Multithreading in C. I know how to synchronize two or more threads via Mutex and Conditions, but I don't know how to stop a thread until the main program has reached certain conditions.

Is there any full guide with examples?

Offline SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
Re: Linux:: how to synchronize the main with a thread in C
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2020, 06:36:24 pm »
Use semaphores.
You can then wait on a semaphore in a thread, and post it in another thread (including the main thread) to wake the thread up again and exit the wait.

Online PlainName

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2020, 06:54:28 pm »
Is there any full guide with examples?

What OS are you using or thinking about? If it's FreeRTOS you should download the 'hands-on tutorial'.

Chapter 6.4 describes interrupt synchronization which should cover what you want to know. The pukka FreeRTOS API guide details the functions with examples, but this tutorial covers why you might want to use them.

Edit: just noticed this is the Linux topic. Duh! But the principle remains the same whatever you're using.

Offline 0dbTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2020, 07:18:13 pm »
Use semaphores.
You can then wait on a semaphore in a thread, and post it in another thread (including the main thread) to wake the thread up again and exit the wait.

You write "main thread", but in my case, I am in the int main() { ... } body of a C program and I need to wait until a thread, which will never terminate,  reaches a particular state.

Can I sill use semaphores, mutes, condition variables, &C in this case?

Offline 0dbTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2020, 07:33:24 pm »
Code: [Select]