Author Topic: Oscilloscope bandwidth simulated with Octave/Matlab  (Read 3011 times)

Offline ik1zywTopic starter

• Contributor
    • My blog
Oscilloscope bandwidth simulated with Octave/Matlab
« on: August 31, 2021, 11:12:11 am »
Hello.
I last used MATLAB three decades ago, when I studied the signal theory. Then never used either in my work life. I do remember practicalities, but not the whole theory, so I need help. Here's what I would like to do.

I have bought a declared 150 MHz bandwidth oscilloscope. I feed to it an impulse train at 14 MHz, with the impulse being (probably) 10 ns long. Given the BW limit, the oscilloscope returns just a few of the harmonics in a curvy signal that looks like the impulse train only because I know what I'm feeding to it.

I would like to build a GNU Octave simulation in order to get a plot similar to the oscilloscope output, which hopefully will tell me more about the system frequency response.

Here's what I would do: define the impulse train in the time domain, FFT it, apply the low pass filter (-3 dB at 150 MHz), IFFT the result back to TD and plot it. If the LPF order and -3dB point are configurable, or swept, sooner or later I should plot a waveform close enough to what is shown on the oscilloscope. Shouldn't I? And yes, I know my impulse is probably more trapezoidal than real squared, but initially I'd keep the assumption that it is ideal.

If I am not too far from a useful experiment, I need to be guided towards a working [Octave] code. I hope someone is willing to help.

TIA,
Paolo
Suffering from light form of TEAS.

Online RoGeorge

• Super Contributor
Re: Oscilloscope bandwidth simulated with Octave/Matlab
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2021, 11:46:59 am »
Would be easier to simulated with LTspice instead of Matlab or Octave, but there's a well known relation between an analog oscilloscope bandwidth and the rise time that can be seen on the oscilloscope display.

\[ BW = \frac{0.35}{t_r} \]