Author Topic: watchdog programming ds1286 and others need help  (Read 3431 times)

Offline VE2JFQTopic starter

• Contributor
watchdog programming ds1286 and others need help
« on: January 25, 2021, 12:19:24 am »
hello, i have a problem with a ds1286 real time clock. i am a telecom technician, i have 3 ifr com-120b. all three the ds1286 battery has died! i managed to find three ds1286 in montreal, my problem is that i want to read and program them. i'm not a programmer, but i have a tl866 2 plus, but it doesn't take ds1286 or ds1284 (which contains 50bits of data. like time clock, serial number and options. i'm thinking of taking a pic programmer or arduino. I don't know these are two programs! what do you suggest to me? thank you and good day jacques

Offline techman-001

• Frequent Contributor
  • !
  • Electronics technician for the last 50 years
    • Mecrisp Stellaris Unofficial UserDoc
Re: watchdog programming ds1286 and others need help
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2021, 02:10:46 am »
hello, i have a problem with a ds1286 real time clock. i am a telecom technician, i have 3 ifr com-120b. all three the ds1286 battery has died! i managed to find three ds1286 in montreal, my problem is that i want to read and program them. i'm not a programmer, but i have a tl866 2 plus, but it doesn't take ds1286 or ds1284 (which contains 50bits of data. like time clock, serial number and options. i'm thinking of taking a pic programmer or arduino. I don't know these are two programs! what do you suggest to me? thank you and good day jacques

How about carefully sawing open the package (with a fine cutting wheel in a milling machine at a non Dremel tool plastic melting speed), remove the battery and add another battery of the same type on top of the RTC package ?

Beware the dust, don't breathe it, go slow.

Find a friend with an x-ray machine if you need to see where the battery is first.

Online Ian.M

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2021, 04:27:27 am »