Author Topic: What's your favorite language feature?  (Read 13193 times)

Offline jfiresto

• Frequent Contributor
Re: What's your favorite language feature?
« Reply #25 on: March 23, 2020, 04:17:01 pm »
Almost always when I found something annoying about Python, it was because I was slavishly following a design pattern, necessary in a prior language I had internalized, but now redundant in Python and agreeably forgotten.

I think the missing delimiters and significance of whitespace bit me once or twice the first couple days I used Python. That ended after I banished tabs and turned on Python mode: in the same old editor I have been using for the last forty years. The pretty printing I had always done, then mapped one-to-one to Python's indentation, and I promptly forgot about it.

I bet you are fighting the language in some way if its indentation is causing you grief,  If you could post some examples (perhaps starting another thread), I would be happy to try to smooth things out.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2020, 04:28:46 pm by jfiresto »
-John

Offline exe

• Supporter
  • self-educated hobbyist
« Reply #26 on: March 23, 2020, 04:31:34 pm »
Strong static typing (I'm a python developer).

Online tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
« Reply #27 on: March 23, 2020, 04:42:12 pm »
You'll never realize how much you appreciate braces surrounding (read: clearly, unmistakably delimited) code blocks in C/C++, until you work in a language like Python where (invisible) (whitespace) indent levels attempt to substitute for them.

Whomever dreamt that up should be professionally embarrassed for eternity. No other accomplishment can possibly offset the lunacy of that decision.

Ahah, I fully agree. This is wrong on so many levels, but one that's definitely worse than others is maintainability and code sharing.