Author Topic: Do you have tips for how to get rid of mains hum EMI in hi impedance preamp  (Read 2036 times)

Offline BalthazarTopic starter

• Contributor
Hi

I’m a hobbyist who just finished making an electric cello, for reference I asked an earlier question about the project here. It’s based on polymer film piezo pickups, which are known for flat frequency response, and susceptibility to noise, compared to ceramics. And noise I got. The noise is completely dominated by 50-cycle hum (I live in Europe), so much so that when I digitally remove the 50 Hz frequency from a recorded signal, there is no audible noise at all left. I get about 20 dB SNR with the hum, which is far too low.

Polymer film piezo sensors consist of two metal plates, in my case 1.5 square cm and 28 um apart, with piezoelectric material in between. They can be viewed as a voltage source in series with a 480 pF capacitor.

The preamp is in a cavity lined with copper shielding tape, and experiments show that almost all the noise is picked up by the sensor, which isn’t yet shielded. So, I reckon I have two paths forward:

1) Sandwich the sensor in copper tape,
2) Make a differential preamp

Number one is simple, but it might affect the audio quality as well. Besides, I thought this might be an opportunity to learn an understand EMI a little better. So, do you think this might be a good candidate for a differential preamp?