Author Topic: [Review Request] Newbie here, can someone review my PCB before I order it?  (Read 1254 times)

Offline AmeliaBunsTopic starter

• Contributor
Hi! This is a 12v(10A-15A)/24v(10-15A) PTC heater controller for a filament drybox. It uses an ST7335 TFT module and an encoder to function. I regret putting the heaters on the bottom (the PCB's bottom layer will be facing the user).

I chose a random capacitor bank (220uF + 470uF) purely based on instinct, I'd love a second opinion on that, the issue from my understanding is that PTCs draw more current with lower voltage (which is strange!) and I expect an inrush current at the turn on event. I chose to keep my PWM frequency to about 10hz-1hz (based on feelings again...) but I know voltage doesn't rise instantly, I can't afford a current probe/differential probe for my scope to do testing myself. so I just sorta went with this. Any thoughts? Am I overthinking this? Part of me thinks even without any electrolyte caps on the inputs it'll still function more than fine and be more compact :P

More importantly, will the PCB even work? I'm awful at laying out components and tracing them, Any tips or gentle criticism?

EDIT: I just noticed the warnings for the silkscreen, sorry! ignore those, my footprints are apperntly too small for JLCPCB? Maybe I configured my silkscreen wrong... but that's not important right yet!
« Last Edit: March 26, 2024, 08:34:41 pm by AmeliaBuns »

Offline thm_w

• Super Contributor
  • Non-expert
Looks good, some notes:
- Fuse on gnd instead of positive input where it would normally be
- Could have a cap on TH0_IN to manage noise and ESD
- Could have caps on the encoder to make software a bit easier, though not necessary
- Could add some test points on spare pins in case you need more IO after the board is made
- Silkscreen could show polarity of inputs where important (eg Vin +/-)
Profile -> Modify profile -> Look and Layout ->  Don't show users' signatures

Offline zilp