Author Topic: 100% SMD project with domestic Iron reflow  (Read 17581 times)

Offline invzimTopic starter

• Contributor
100% SMD project with domestic Iron reflow
« on: November 28, 2010, 02:35:29 pm »
Just a Hi to all, stumbled across the eevblog while searching for something on the Internet and found it highly entertaining and informative.

I'm very new to electronics design/making stuff, and although I always wanted to learn it, just making stuff blink&beep wasn't enough of a motivation for me to actually do something.

A couple of years ago I needed a little gizmo for an arcade machine, that simply wasn't available.  I saw no logical reason why it couldn't be done, so went down the route I guess many have gone before me.

1 - breadboarding, swearing a lot at development tools, and coming to the conclusion that yes, it actually works
2 - prototype on veroboard, more swearing
3 - all hole-through design made using eagle, weeks and weeks of routing, resulting in what I now regard as really really bad layout, PCB made in china, self assembled.  Improved my soldering skills a lot  :)  I made 50 of these boards, sold them all and had to make more.  An excuse to move into SMD.
4 - Better layout in eagle, most parts SMD, hand soldered and coming to the conclusion that hole through is neither easier, faster or cheaper.  Made a 100 of these, sold them all, and had to make more.,
5 - 100% SMD, using a stencil for solder paste, and reflowed with a domestic iron.  1 dot is pre-heat, 2 dots are ramp-up and 3 dots is the reflow.  I also made my first youtube,  I hope it can contributes to other newbies moving into SMD and reflowing:

The projects homepage is here, http://jvspac.kirurg.org/ explaining what it does.

« Last Edit: November 28, 2010, 02:47:46 pm by invzim »

Offline GeoffS

• Supporter
Re: 100% SMD project with domestic Iron reflow
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2010, 02:46:26 pm »
Neat. I'm a bit more confident to try some SMD stuff myself.