Author Topic: 10fA to 500mA measuerment, is it possible?  (Read 2300 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
10fA to 500mA measuerment, is it possible?
« on: April 09, 2021, 03:49:02 pm »
Hi,
I came across this open source design, I want to know if it's possible? any Issues? or ideas?
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Online Kleinstein

• Super Contributor
Re: 10fA to 500mA measuerment, is it possible?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2021, 04:29:13 pm »
I don't see how this design could cope with 500 mA at the input. This upper limit is more like 10 mA and even this is with rather poor performance because of the switch resistance. The switch would also limit the usefulness to low currents, as there would be some leakage current, that is temperature dependent. So the practical lower limit is likely more like 100 fA-10pA.

With the relatively large capacitance of the switches I am not so sure the TIA circuit would not oscillate. This can at least happen with some input capacitance.

I see no real protection for the input.

It is a bit odd to use a 3 V ref. with output buffer and than divide it down to 1.5 V for the ADC. There are ready made 2 V and likely some 1.5 V references with buffered output that would be used and give better performence.
Anyway the TIA does not really need a high perfromance ADC anyway - it works for a large range, but with rather limited noise and stability.

Offline penfold

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2021, 05:09:01 pm »