Author Topic: 3.3 volt supply from single L-Ion cell  (Read 1150 times)

Offline kenartonTopic starter

3.3 volt supply from single L-Ion cell
« on: April 18, 2021, 03:39:06 pm »
Hello,

I'm an electronics hobbyist, and I want to use a single 18650 Li-Ion cell to power a fixed 3.3 volt supply.
The cell voltage varies from about 4.3v down to 2.7v, so I need to use a buck-boost DC-DC converter which operates smoothly through buck mode to boost mode.  The TI TPS63000 series is ideal as it is specifically designed for this application.  Unfortunately it seems to be available only in a 3mm x 3mm leadless QFN package. 
I am quite used to SM soldering, but I reckon this package would be beyond my capabilities.
There are lots of other buck-boost and step-up step-down converters on the market (eg TI MC33063), but all the data sheets seem to indicate that they can be configured to operate in one mode or the other, but not both.

Can anyone suggest an alternative equivalent to the TPS63000 in a manageable package, eg DIL or SOIC ?

I could use two separate converters with circuitry to switch over when the battery voltage reaches 3.3.  But I really want the simplicity of a single IC.

Thanks.

Offline Siwastaja

• Super Contributor
Re: 3.3 volt supply from single L-Ion cell
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2021, 04:40:46 pm »
Are you pulling significant currents out of the cell? I.e., what is the highest peak (> 1ms) current in your application?

If you stay below say C/20 as is often the case with small gadgets, the end-of-discharge voltage is way higher than what is rated for the typical C/2 or C/5 discharge cutoff in the datasheet.

0% SoC Open-circuit voltage being some 3.4V for most typical li-ion cells, an LDO with dropout around 100mV-200mV would not necessary waste more than some 5-10% of cell capacity.