Author Topic: 4 layer PCB arrangement with multiple power layers  (Read 3787 times)

Offline MNMNMNMNTopic starter

4 layer PCB arrangement with multiple power layers
« on: January 08, 2020, 01:55:33 pm »
Hi, after long lurking I'm proud to make my first post.

I work as a repairman for electronic musical instruments, mainly, and do some occasional design as well. In the Eurorack Modular world (started by Dieter Doepfer http://www.doepfer.de/home_e.htm ) we use +12V, -12V, and a 5V rail, mainly for digital modules. Power can come from either a linear PSU or a Switched PSU. In standard DIN-rails we can mount a plethora of different modules ranging from simple analog Oscillators to complex digital effects and sound sources. Tons of manufacturers, big and small, from all over the world design modules: Like these.

To power all these modules we use a (what we call) bus board.

You can see the 4 power rails, 5V, +12V, GND and -12V, accompanied by a LED to show there is power. Modules connect via IDC connectors, either 10 or 16 pins. There are 2 more traces, GATE and CV. (some modules use these traces for all sort of voltages, ranging from digital syncs, to pitch information for the Oscillators.) Gate is a trigger signal from 0V to 10V, and CV is Control Voltage from -10V to +10V. The CV can not drift, or experience a voltage change, because that would make the music out of tune.

Now for the question: I want to design my own bus board in a ultra flat profile (because there is non yet). I want to use a 4 layer PCB, and have dedicated planes for the power rails and GND. The CV and GATE trace needs to share the PCB with a power rail. What is the best practice to sandwich these layers?  Where should I place the GND-plane? And is it best to place the CV and GATE traces on the GND-layer?