Author Topic: 5 MHz function generator output stage design  (Read 19208 times)

Offline YansiTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • STM32, STM8, AVR, 8051
5 MHz function generator output stage design
« on: January 16, 2015, 05:33:00 pm »
Hello
I'd like to build a small function generator, based on DDS principle. Because I have very little experience with designing these, I have a trouble with the output stage.

I have got multiplying DAC, AD5445. To control output amplitude, I will simply regulate the voltage at the DAC reference input.

To shift the offset level, I thought to do it in the output stage, by simply adding the offset control voltage together with the signal from the filter.

What are your reccomendations for designing the analog part please? The holy grail should be to keep it as low cost as posible, so I am not afraid of using more components (like for discrete buffer).

Lets start with the current2voltage part: What output amplitude should it produce? The output of the whole generator should be 10Vpp. It seems to be nonsense to make the I/V part generate full swing signal, because it would require very fast and expensive opamp.  The I/V output amplitude should be therefore a compromise of the opamp speed. Considering the 6dB voltage loss in the filter, I would prefer to have the output amplitude of about 2 to 4Vpp out of the I/V stage. Is it fine or did I miss any other drawbacks? With such an amplitude and the filter input impedance of about 200ohms, it does not require any highcurrent OPamp.