Author Topic: _Cheap_ buck solution for 9-24V in to 5V out, ~50mA to 1A  (Read 6678 times)

Offline KremmenTopic starter

• Super Contributor
_Cheap_ buck solution for 9-24V in to 5V out, ~50mA to 1A
« on: April 15, 2012, 02:23:05 pm »
Hi all & greetings from Finland where the snow is finally gone and Miss Spring is in town  ;D.
This is my first post to the forum so i am a noob here, although not otherwise.
The topic really says it, but to fill in some details: I am in the process of designing a small instrumentation system mostly for CNC related stuff, based on Atmel processors and I2C bus. The idea is to distribute the system into measuring / data acquisition units, data processing units and display units. One unit may freely have multiple roles to minimize system cost. The idea is to create units as needed but using a common framework so existing units can be easily mixed and matched. Each individual unit is supposed to be small and low cost.
This brings me to the point: Digikey and Mouser offer heaps of easily applied buck ICs that only need the inductor and a few random components to create a working PSU. This would be ideal only the price in small quantities is, well, disappointing. Paying 4 to 9 $ or € per chip is not in line with the rest of the stuff. A run of the mill ATMega328 for example goes for $ 3 and change. The target is to keep a typical unit definitely below 20 € (we are not competing with the Chinese here) but these chip prices already eat a quarter of that or worse.

So, anyone been in the same situation came up with a brilliant solution?
« Last Edit: April 15, 2012, 02:29:05 pm by Kremmen »
Nothing sings like a kilovolt.
Dr W. Bishop

Offline mariush

• Super Contributor
Re: _Cheap_ buck solution for 9-24V in to 5V out, ~50mA to 1A
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2012, 02:51:50 pm »
You must have really low filtering/searching skills.

I bought these from Farnell :

ON SEMICONDUCTOR - NCP3063BPG - V REG, SWITCH, BUCKBOOST, INV, 1.5A