Author Topic: ac rectifier dc MOSFET dimmer circuit  (Read 1422 times)

Offline Lo.Fe.vTopic starter

ac rectifier dc MOSFET dimmer circuit
« on: May 28, 2023, 10:19:48 pm »
Hello everyone, I am new to this, in the forum and in the world of electronics and I need help, I am doing my final electronics project, and this is the circuit that the teacher asked us to do, the light bulb should turn on by the arduino (the code will be given to us by the teacher), but through calculations I need to get the resistance R1 and R2, someone who can help me? I have no idea, ask on chegg but it asks me for the threshold voltage, I don't know how to get that

Online wasedadoc

• Super Contributor
Re: ac rectifier dc MOSFET dimmer circuit
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2023, 10:23:50 pm »
You get the MOSFET's threshold voltage from its data sheet.

The following users thanked this post: Lo.Fe.v

Offline Kim Christensen

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2023, 10:45:21 pm »
Since this is a school project, I'm just going to ask you this:
Why do you think you need R2 and D1?

« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2023, 10:51:18 pm »
my teacher asked us to include the resistances with the calculations in the project report

Offline Kim Christensen

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2023, 11:14:27 pm »
Did the teacher draw the schematic and then tell you to fill in the values?
Or is the schematic 100% your own design?
What is the AC input voltage? What type of light bulb (voltage & wattage) is going to used?

« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2023, 11:22:33 pm »
Yes, he drew the circuit and then told us to find the values
The AC voltage is 127 volts, and the bulb is 120 volts and 60w

Online Benta

• Super Contributor
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2023, 11:43:49 pm »
You either need a new teacher, or he's asking trick questions, both are possible.
As Kim C said, D1 and R2 are unnecessary.
If you turn off the Arduino, the lamp will always be on.