Author Topic: My first board design. Feedback appreciated!  (Read 2936 times)

Offline aeharding

My first board design. Feedback appreciated!
« on: September 28, 2015, 11:32:16 pm »
(I posted this on Reddit, but I was hoping you guys would offer some help! Thanks)

Hey everyone, this is my 'first' real PCB design. I'm a web developer by trade, and I've been fascinated by PCB design for the last week after painstakingly making a perfboard prototype. It's an audible altimeter for skydiving. I put it in my helmet and it beeps to let me know when I should deploy my parachute at what altitude. I've gone through a couple iterations (breadboard, perfboard) with real world testing, and now I'm hoping to make an actual PCB to lower the footprint and add a rechargeable battery.

I have a few questions:
1) Are the decoupling caps used correctly?
2) Would you recommend breaking out tx/rx / FTDI? Or is this enough?
3) I'm planning on using the pushbutton to allow the micro to be switched on and off with an interrupt and sleep mode. Should I do any debouncing? I think I can do it all in software, but I'm not entirely sure.

Any other design oriented suggestions are welcome. I am planning to add a better silkscreen in the future after it is finalized. This is only my first real PCB design. I can definitely redo it. (I've already redone it twice!)

Also, I'm looking to conserve power. Let me know of any ideas. I tried using an ATTiny, and I had issues with I2C... So Atmega328 is what I chose. :) I'm planning on using the micro to control the 3.3v reg, as you can see in the schema.

Please let me know of any concerns... Thanks! :) I can post eagle files if needed.

http://imgur.com/a/V9xAa

Offline alexanderbrevig

• Frequent Contributor
  • Musician, developer and EE hobbyist
    • alexanderbrevig.com
Re: My first board design. Feedback appreciated!
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2015, 11:40:06 pm »
Welcome!