Author Topic: Adding new battery assistance  (Read 566 times)

Offline nemesis_567Topic starter

• Contributor
Adding new battery assistance
« on: September 16, 2021, 04:01:53 pm »
Hello, I am trying to do a project.

I want to add a new battery to my car so I run some additional utilities when needed.

So my alternator produces up to 90 amps. Everything is 12V.

I have purchased a battery isolator capable of handling 120 amps(Victron Energy CYR010120011)

Now my concern is cabling because one of the batteries will be in the boot. So the thing is what is the maximum current that this second battery will be able to draw from the alternator so I can decide what is the ideal cable cross section. I could just get the AWG0  but that would be a pain to carry all the way back.

I hope this is the right place to ask this, if not let me know and I will do what is necessary.

Thank you for any assistance and sorry for any stupid questions(I am a learning newbie)

« Last Edit: September 16, 2021, 04:06:15 pm by nemesis_567 »

Online bdunham7

• Super Contributor
Re: Adding new battery assistance
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2021, 04:08:02 pm »
That depends a lot on the characteristics of your additional battery and exactly how things are connected up and then how you use them.  It is possible, although not likely, that the current could exceed 90 amps if the auxiliary battery were discharged since it could draw current from the other battery as well as the alternator.  So what sort of auxiliary battery are you going to use?
A 3.5 digit 4.5 digit 5 digit 5.5 digit 6.5 digit 7.5 digit DMM is good enough for most people.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2021, 04:15:42 pm »
Lead acid between 70-90Ah, but it's not fixed in stone. I was thinking something like a Tudor tc700.

As for the rest, I have an amp and default stuff connected to the main battery(amp can pull up to 40-45A). I'd like to connect this one to the secondary battery in the future.