Author Topic: Advice for roof-mounting GNSS antenna  (Read 1192 times)

Offline matthuszaghTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Advice for roof-mounting GNSS antenna
« on: June 08, 2023, 04:57:49 pm »
I'll be using a Novatel GPS-703-GGG pinwheel GNSS antenna (https://novatel.com/support/previous-generation-products-drop-down/previous-generation-products/gps-703-ggg-antenna) for precision timing applications. I'm planning to mount it to my roof and, as I've never done this before, would appreciate suggestions for achieving best results.

I've attached pictures of the roof I'll be working with. I suppose the first consideration is roof location. The easiest location for me to access is the lowest section of the roof (in image 3). This would also leave the cable to the GNSS receiver the shortest. But, maybe I should be concerned with reflections off the higher roof segments at this location. Another possible location would be the lower left corner in image 2. That's a bit further from the window (i.e., longer cable) but should have a slightly clearer sky view. Finally, I could try to mount it near the top for the best sky view, but that would require clambering up the roof, which I'm not eager to do. It's worth noting that the pinwheel antenna should provide pretty good multipath rejection.