Electronics > Projects, Designs, and Technical Stuff

AP63203WU Step down IC keeps burning down.

(1/11) > >>

AmeliaBuns:
Hi! I have been designing a filament drier PCB and it's one of my first projects.
Everything on this board works great when connected via SWD or when I inject 3v on the line (except my clumsy stupid brain wiring I2C to PA6 PA7 instead of  PB6 PB7....)
The problem is, when I connect the board to 12v, the power LED flickers, and the 3.3v is at 2.2v peak with 1v of noise with a frequency of 700hz~ which is really strange. After bumping the voltage to 24v, the IC just got busted and yeah.... now it's practically a short. The load on the step-down was only 50ma~.

Does anyone here have an idea of what could be wrong? Thanks! (also yes I know the design is awful, I got really tired of messing with it and I'm a beginner so I figured, as long as it's wired correctly xD)

I also put a very poor photo of what my scope saw, sorry I had to hold the board with my hands and inject the power so I only have this awful photo before my board went permanently kapoom!

EDIT: General To-do for V3 of this board:
- Fix i2c.
- move fuse to be after the capacitor
- move inductor and caps close to IC by rotating.
- Remove Fuse
 - Change caps to 0805 and better ratings (Voltage etc) (appearntly ratings on Caps are not that great or detailed, it might not be 22uf at 3.3v dependign on the rating!)
 - Change inductor, it's overkill for 1mhz and my current, the value can be changed too.

The Doktor:
I think that part of your problem is that there is a fairly long path from the output capacitors back to the input ground. I am rather new to switching power supplies, but here is a board I laid out using precisely that regulator. Note that I tried to keep all loops as short as possible, as I have seen others recommend.