Author Topic: ATMega328 powered 40x16 LED Matrix project - input wanted  (Read 2071 times)

Offline -stewart-Topic starter

ATMega328 powered 40x16 LED Matrix project - input wanted
« on: September 09, 2018, 10:06:14 am »
Hi everybody!

I realise I might be a bit cheeky asking for input or help in my first post ever on the EEVBlog Forum, but in my defence I have been following this community for a long time, without taking an active part. First now I am taking the plunge to become an active member. I hope it is OK with you guys and gals!

First a little backstory, I am an electronics engineer, or what in the olden days was called a radio/tv repair guy. (Waaay back in the CRT-times). Hence I got electronics repair experience, but not so much design experience. The project I am taking on now, might be a bit to big, but I think I will be able to cope, someone is helping me with the code for the ATMega, thankfully.

So, to the meat of things;
I am planning to make a box with ten 8x8 LED matrices, configured in a way so they form a 40x16 LED "display". Ie. 2 rows of 5 on top of each other.
I would like the display to show a clock, maybe some "random" patterns, and most important a custom message which can be entered by using a rotary encoder with a built in switch function.
This whole thing is a gift for a 3-year old who loves buttons and already wants to write his, and his mothers, name all over. Hence the custom message bit :)

I come to you, and your collective genius, to hopefully get some good input on my progress with this project. I have come to the stage that I have designed a schematic and drawn up a board with everything I think I'll need, in the order I think it aught to be. Everything is wired according to reference designs in the relevant data-sheets. But before I press go and get a board made up and everything I would like someone to have a look and maybe see some obvious mistakes I have made.