Author Topic: Benefits of side plating for sensitive circuits  (Read 703 times)

Offline johofzTopic starter

• Contributor
Benefits of side plating for sensitive circuits
« on: April 22, 2021, 09:41:17 am »
Hello dear EEVblog-Community,

I'm currently designing a prototype for a charge mode amplifier used to convert the charge coming from a piezoelectric force/torque sensor.

Since charge mode amps are very sensitive, I thought about applying side plating to the PCB, but I'm not sure if it's worth the extra cost considering it's only a prototype. It would essentially cost almost 3x as much.

I'm dealing with a sensitivity of 3.7pC / N and designed the amp to produce 1V at 10kN. Since it's the first charge mode amp I designed, I'm not 100% sure but It does not seem like a very critical situation in therms of SNR.

One more thing that is typically suggested is to use guard-rings on the inputs of the opamp. Again I have no previous experience whether it is necessary or not in my case.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Greetings
johofz

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
Re: Benefits of side plating for sensitive circuits
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2021, 10:31:48 am »
A ground plane and via stitching (with a via fence if you're feeling really paranoid) is more than adequate.

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!

Online RoGeorge

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2021, 10:54:45 am »
- Guard rings for op-amps, yes, preferably servo driven so the Vinput to Vring is always zero.
- Side plating, IDK, probably not.
- You'll need to shield the prototype board anyway, sometimes double shielding it, and sometimes magnetically shielding it, too, depending on the working environment.

Offline johofzTopic starter

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2021, 11:25:57 am »