Author Topic: Building a substitution miniature flyback transformer  (Read 2920 times)

Offline richard1991Topic starter

• Contributor
Building a substitution miniature flyback transformer
« on: June 28, 2017, 10:49:34 am »
Hi. The miniature flyback transformer burned out. I've taken it apart and I know the primary and secondary wire gauge and length*. Hopefully I can get an E core, bobbin and wire and make myself a substitute transformer. But, I'm not experienced, so I may need help.

The original transformer was made by VOGT (Now taken over by Sumida). The following was marked on the transformer core: "VOGT R1" The bobbin was marked "VOGT 32555".  Examining a VOGT catalogue "E cores and Kits" section, I have determined that the product Part Number must have been either 254 03 325 88 or 254 03 328 88.  These are described as E12.6/3.7 core shape.  325 relates to Fi 325 core material, 328 as  Fi 328 core material.  88 in the number I added taken from a table and is the standard AL value, 88 being 560 nH (the actual nH for the cores is 600 nH).

I've now got to try to source a replacement E core set and bobbin.

I attach a schematic.

* I may get my primary length wrong.  We will see.

P.S. The primary wire was in bits, and some has gone missing. So, I probably do not know the primary length, but could make an estimation (a matter of estimating what length of wire I've lost and adding that to the wire I have). It's about 44 SWG. Secondary wire gauge is about 32 SWG and is 952mm in length.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2017, 11:15:59 am by richard1991 »

Offline IanMacdonald

• Frequent Contributor
    • IWR Consultancy
Re: Building a substitution miniature flyback transformer
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2017, 11:38:47 am »
The main question would be whether it is a diode-split type or uses a separate rectifier.