Author Topic: Borderlands style jewelry box research thread  (Read 11883 times)

Offline YoukaiTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Borderlands style jewelry box research thread
« on: April 06, 2018, 05:45:26 am »
Hello everyone. New member here; thank you for having me. I'm pretty new to this type of thing and I have no real electronics background. If you would like to get an idea of my current level of knowledge you can take a look at this youtube playlist of a previous project I attempted (it failed). https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLBDD0A3B6E5C15862 That was pretty rough but I learned a fair amount while working on it.

I'm currently endeavoring to build a motorized jewelry box inspired by the Borderlands treasure chests. Attached are two pictures of a rough model I have created. Blue is the lid which would hinge at the back where the blue cylinders would match up with the grey cylinders on the back of the base. Purple are a couple of trays which would rotate forward and out. Purple cylinders would sit on top of the grey cylinders they are above.

The dimensions of the final product will be approx: 20cm wide, 16cm deep, 12cm tall. All of the cylinders are 4cm in diameter. The lid will rotate up 90 degrees. I'm thinking the trays will rotate 180 degrees probably. I'm still very early in the design/planning phases so if the electronics dictate I can change some of the dimensions.

So my questions are how to make the items move. In my previous project I used servos and that worked fine but I was watching some videos on youtube later and learned that stepper motors are a thing that exists. Would one of those be better than the other for this application or is there some other type of motor that I'm not aware of which would be good? I also need to consider the size of the motor. It either needs to fit in the 4cm pillar or I'll need to find some way to adjust the design to hide it's bulk inside the body of the chest.