Author Topic: Can I get some feedback, please?  (Read 935 times)

Offline ssashtonTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Can I get some feedback, please?
« on: May 14, 2022, 03:08:28 pm »
Hi!

No pun intended, I'd love to get some feedback on my PCB layout. This is my first attempt at a single GND plane for a mixed signal design.

This project is an audio DSP based around the Analog Devices ADAU1701. My past experience would have me 'separate' digital and analog ground planes and return them to the bulk smoothing cap > power GND by a thick trace. The reason being, I can run the dirty digital return closest to the bulk cap, return the analog further back and also join input signal ground on the analog plane near the op-amps.

I have been advised however, that a single GND plane is best if implemented well. So this is my first attempt to do so.

I hope that you can view the full layout with this link. If not let me know and I'll post some images.

https://easyeda.com/editor#id=1279b1681b4e447cbc0df04207c3e3e0

You can see the schematic pages here:

https://oshwlab.com/ssashton/dsp-adau1701-online

Offline aduinstat

• Contributor
Re: Can I get some feedback, please?
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2022, 11:19:11 pm »
I didn't go through the whole thing in depth, but I have a few notes:
* I don't like the pin 1 indicators on U1. One of them intersects with the C6 silkscreen.
* U4 and U5 should have the same name (LM1117F-ADJ). Right now, each one is it's own line on the BOM.
* C17 and C20 will slow down U4 and U5. I'd get rid of them. Some people would even put a small capacitance across out and adj to make it respond faster. Too much capacitance on adj may drive the regulator to instability.
* I like to put fiducials in the corners, but it's probably not necessary.