Author Topic: Carputer Build  (Read 28513 times)

Offline ptodorovTopic starter

• Contributor
Carputer Build
« on: January 16, 2014, 05:12:03 pm »
Hi everybody! Newbie here.

I want to share with you my experiences building a carputer.
Basically I wanted to put a computer in my car and be able to do all the things a high end head unit can do and some more.
I've found these cases that are standard double din height, have touch screen monitor, some buttons and ports on the front
and have enough space inside to mount a Mini-ATX motherboard. This is similar to what I bought but mine had a touch screen:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Bybyte-Black-Box-N-Double-DIN-Car-PC-Carputer-Enclosure-/200424885277?pt=US_Computer_Cases&hash=item2eaa410c1d

For powering the motherboard I've got one of these DC to DC PSU's that can plug in directly into the ATX conector:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/M3-ATX-HV-95W-6-34v-Automotive-DC-DC-Car-PC-Carputer-PSU-M350-BBX-1-Mini-ITX-/160727371462?pt=PCA_UPS&hash=item256c190ec6
The nice thing about these is that they have a sense wire to the ignition that turns on/off the computer.

For the GPS and wireless capability I've got 2 usb dongles with an external antennas.
I ran 2 coaxial cables to the top of the dash for a better reception. I've also got a rear view camera
because the monitor had the ability to switch inputs when a voltage is applied to a sense wire connected to
the white reverse taillight.

For the music I decided to be cheap and bought the cheapest motorcycle amplifier I could find. It's kinda like this one:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/500W-Motorcycle-Car-2-Channel-Amplifier-mp3-amp-YL2-/260912375445?pt=UK_AudioTVElectronics_HomeAudioHiFi_Amplifiers&hash=item3cbf96e695
WHAT WAS I THINKING  |O I didn't need to look at the dash any more to know the rpm of the car. The buzz
from the engine coming from the speakers was louder than the music.