Author Topic: Charge Pump Question  (Read 10849 times)

Offline void_errorTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
Charge Pump Question
« on: March 24, 2015, 09:31:03 am »
Just wondering if it's possible to add 10V on top of a 30V rail using a charge pump with both sharing a common ground. Can it be done using jellybean parts? The current supplied doesn't exceed a few mA.
Trust me, I'm NOT an engineer.

Offline Richard Head

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Charge Pump Question
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2015, 11:14:00 am »
Absolutely possible. And you can do it with a 555 timer, a few diodes and capacitors.

Offline cellularmitosis

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2015, 01:16:43 pm »
You can also use the ICL7660, which is fairly jellybean.  The 555 will accept a wider input voltage though.

Also, switched capacitor ICs are noisy, if that's important for your design. https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/an-evening-with-the-icl7660/
LTZs: KX FX MX CX PX Frank A9 QX

Offline cellularmitosis

• Supporter
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2015, 01:18:46 pm »
And if you need to simulate the 7660 in LTSpice, you can use the LTC1044 and get a rough idea.
LTZs: KX FX MX CX PX Frank A9 QX

Offline calexanian

• Super Contributor
    • Alex-Tronix
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2015, 08:14:25 pm »
To add a 10 volt rail above a 30 volt rail with a 7660 you will need a pseudo ground 10 volts below the top of the rail you are boosting from. I would use a negative adjustable regulator with its ground reference from the 30 volt rail and use the output of that as your 7660 ground and the 30 volt rail as the Vdd of the 7660 and the output will be 30 volt rail + whatever that adjustable regulator is set to.
Charles Alexanian
Alex-Tronix Control Systems

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2015, 02:18:17 pm »
What if the 30 V rail can be anywhere between 3V & 30V? Hint: tracking pre-regulator. I will still have access to  30V.