Author Topic: Crystal Oscilator Circuit Problems  (Read 7658 times)

Offline brokensegueTopic starter

• Contributor
Crystal Oscilator Circuit Problems
« on: October 26, 2021, 10:46:56 pm »
I'm a total newb trying my hand at EE stuff. I built a circuit with the goal of producing a near 1Hz signal. I cribbed a design off a bunch of websites for doing this but the damn thing just acts strangely. Sometimes it won't oscillate at all, sometimes it oscillates at the wrong frequency (sometimes double or half the intended) and sometimes it's all over the place. I even found that how far my fingers are from the board greatly impacts the frequency (if it's going to be that sensitive I figure I'm doomed).

Here's my schematic from KiCad which I think just implements a pierce oscillator using the CD4060BPWR:

1307936-0

Note that it really is designed to output 2Hz at the slowest. I figured I'd run it off of my rpi at 3.3V or 5V (though it only seems to run at all at 3.3V). It pulls <1mA at 3.3V.

I basically copied the schematic from the CD4060BM document: see https://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/cd4060b.pdf

Here's a picture of one of the two ones I tried (for fun I got 5 fabricated from jlcpcb):

1307942-1

The crystal I'm using in it is https://datasheet.lcsc.com/lcsc/1811151451_Seiko-SC-20S,32.768kHz,20PPM,7pF_C97602.pdf

I can share the gerbers if that would be helpful.

Thanks for any suggestions! I asked some friends and they just told me to use a micro but the whole point is I'm trying to learn (I already know software).

I hope this is an appropriate place to post this. Sorry if not I'm new.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2021, 10:53:33 pm by brokensegue »

Online Benta

• Super Contributor
Re: Crystal Oscilator Circuit Problems
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2021, 11:14:28 pm »
I'm not surprised it doesn't work. Please read and understand datasheets before sending off orders to JLCPCB.
Crystal datasheet:
Drive level: 0.1 uW typ.
Absolute Max. Drive level: 0.5  uW