Author Topic: Desigining (part selection) 3S battery charger - CC/CV step-down buck converter.  (Read 1289 times)

Offline OxmstrTopic starter

• Contributor
I'm a hobbyist, so my electrical engineering skills are not top notch.

I'm service tech and I'm working on modifying portable coolers (thermoelectric and compressor based) where we add batteries to said coolers to make them work without being connected to wall outlet.

Currently we are making our own battery packs, and our problem is charging the batteries safely while inside the cooler. At the moment we are using these cheap - around 5$ per piece "XL4016 300W step-down CC/CV converters"

that are quite bad in terms of efficency (80%) and power usage when running on battery (the battery self discharges in a week when connected to the DC-DC converter by it's own - 133 Wh), so I'm willing to spend a lot more for higher quality.

I'd like to design my own battery charger / step-down converter that is more efficent, and doesn't discharge the battery when unpluged.

Current system looks like this:

My biggest hurdle is searching for appropriate DC-DC controller or dedicated 3S battery charger IC that has all the features that I'd like to have. Most of DC-DC controllers and battery ICs don't have proper parameters on LCSC, so searching for one is complicated. I've checked out the TI WEBENCH, but it's desings don't include current limiting chips.

My design criteria are:

• BOM price: around 20$ - 30$ from LCSC at ~20 pcs pricing (for assembly from JLCPCB)
  • Low power draw when disconnected from power supply.
  • Input voltage: 13 V - 35 V (up to 24 V for charging from battery in truck, so 33 V max nominal)
  • Output voltage for battery charging: 12.6 V (3S Li-Ion configuration)
  • 0 volts on input side, when battery is connected, but charger is disconnected