Electronics > Projects, Designs, and Technical Stuff

Distance along a line

(1/3) > >>

mribble:
I want to determine the volume of yarn on a bobbin.  If it's filled evenly I could use a low cost time of flight sensor on the center point and calculate this.  However in the attached image the bobbin isn't filled evenly.  Do you have any suggestions on a low cost (<$5 in 1K qty) that can do this?  The bobbin will be rotating at around 2000 rpms if that matters.

One option is to move the time of flight sensor to about 64 positions and sample, but I don't want another moving piece like that.  The only other thing I could think of is use a low cost 640x480 camera with an IR filter ($2) and some IR LEDs to light up the bobbin.  Then in most environments the edges of the bobbin's yarn could be detected and with correct calibration the volume calculated.  I have some experience with low level graphics and could handle the algorithms of this system, but I suspect it would take a lot of time to get it working robustly.

Oh, I did think of using the weight and that would kind of work, but the density of yarn can vary, but it would require some end user calibration and is thus not ideal.

Do you guys have any other ideas for sensors that could do this?

Benta:
I think the camera idea is your best bet.
But why can't you fill the bobbin evenly?

mribble:
Thanks for the feedback!