Author Topic: DIY SCPI programmable dual channel bench PSU 0-50V/3A (now EEZ H24005)  (Read 451909 times)

Offline VEGETA

• Super Contributor
  • I am the cult of personality
    • Thundertronics
Re: DIY SCPI programmable dual channel bench PSU 0-50V/3A (now EEZ H24005)
« Reply #500 on: November 24, 2016, 12:11:29 am »
you said your supply is 0-3A so what if the load actually requires more than 3A? how can the design limit that without CC circuit being activated?

Offline void_error

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
« Reply #501 on: November 24, 2016, 12:29:49 am »
It goes into CC mode as soon as the current drawn reaches 3A or whatever it's set to below 3A. If your load requires more current you need a bigger power supply.
Trust me, I'm NOT an engineer.

Offline VEGETA

• Super Contributor
    • Thundertronics
« Reply #502 on: November 24, 2016, 12:46:25 am »
I understood the thing as follows: there is an already 3v on the comparator as a limit made by the designer, so the moment the supply is on, this set voltage is fed into the current limit comparator (assuming 3v = 3a). The the user may pick any value he wants if he wanted say like 2A. Is this correct? where can I see this in the circuit (the preset of the assumed 3v voltage)?

BTW, this current limiting circuit didn't work in LTSpice. Is this the case for you?

thanks

Offline void_error

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
« Reply #503 on: November 24, 2016, 01:12:59 am »
For the latest schematic the CC loop is built into IC35 and a DAC (IC39) is used to set the current limit. R33 is used by both IC35 and IC36 as the current sense resistor.

Offline VEGETA

• Super Contributor
    • Thundertronics
« Reply #504 on: November 24, 2016, 01:19:08 am »
For the latest schematic the CC loop is built into IC35 and a DAC (IC39) is used to set the current limit. R33 is used by both IC35 and IC36 as the current sense resistor.