Author Topic: DIY flux fume filter  (Read 3411 times)

Offline georges80Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
DIY flux fume filter
« on: March 24, 2015, 09:52:56 pm »
So, I've been using a commercial bench filter/fan device for several years. It uses an carbon impregnated filter element and basically draws fumes away from your face etc.

It works, but the filters are rather expensive and it does take bench space and also gets in the way.

Every so often I look at filter units that have a hose but they are quite spendy and so I end up passing. Then a couple of weeks ago I ran out of filter elements for my bench unit so revisited the hose based units - still spendy but noticed that a few commercial units mentioned locline. I've used the small locline in the past, but never noticed they have large stuff too.

Went on the hunt and found the big locline and bought 4' worth of segments and also a rectangular duct opening for it and a end 'fitting'. I then ordered a dual ball bearing 120mm 12V fan and also a few sq feet of carbon filter material (ebay).

Once I received the parts I experimented to see how I would do speed control of the fan. Initial tests with a FET driven from a function generator showed things would work well with the PWM running at around 15KHz and varying the duty cycle. At that frequency the fan ran smoothly without any 'audible' noises due to the PWM.

I then took one of my small linear LED drivers and modified the hardware to use the power FET as a pure PWM output and modified the firmware to give me the choice of 8 speeds from slow to flat out. I have found that around 1/10 duty cycle is quite sufficient when I'm soldering.