Author Topic: Finding cheap ADC  (Read 2210 times)

Offline nemesis_567Topic starter

• Contributor
Finding cheap ADC
« on: January 22, 2022, 03:21:08 pm »
So I'm looking for a cheap 8 channel ADC for my project and I just can't find anything sub $1.

What's weird is that I can find an MCU like the ATTINY404 or 88 for sub $1 that contains an 8 channel ADC.

I'm new to this, so am I missing something obvious?

Thank you!

Offline fcb

• Super Contributor
  • Test instrument designer/G1YWC
    • Electron Plus
Re: Finding cheap ADC
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2022, 04:27:09 pm »
More data required such as:
Sample rate?
Resolution?
Simultaneous sampling?

https://electron.plus Power Analysers, VI Signature Testers, Voltage References, Picoammeters, Curve Tracers.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2022, 04:38:02 pm »
Basically it's used to convert sensor data to digital, data is collected every few seconds.

It doesn't need simultaneous sampling, it can sample each channel separately.

8 bit resolution is enough.

Offline NiHaoMike

• Super Contributor
  • "Don't turn it on - Take it apart!"
    • Facebook Page
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2022, 04:47:13 pm »
Supply and demand, there's not much demand for such low end ADCs apart from the ones built into microcontrollers.
Cryptocurrency has taught me to love math and at the same time be baffled by it.

Cryptocurrency lesson 0: Altcoins and Bitcoin are not the same thing.

The following users thanked this post: nemesis_567

Offline BigBoss

• Regular Contributor

Online Zero999

• Super Contributor
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2022, 05:19:10 pm »
Basically it's used to convert sensor data to digital, data is collected every few seconds.

It doesn't need simultaneous sampling, it can sample each channel separately.

8 bit resolution is enough.