Author Topic: First post - New RF Sniffer Project!  (Read 1052 times)

Offline BartronicsTopic starter

First post - New RF Sniffer Project!
« on: January 18, 2022, 02:10:06 am »
Hello, this is my first post... I should have joined this forum a long time ago, I love the video series, I've been watching it for a few years, and I've been looking for an (active) electronics forum, and I think this is it!!

My most recent project is this RF Sniffer I'm in the process of building, its not done yet but getting there. Hard to see here but all of the resistors and non electrolytic caps are SMD components. I'm using a schematic I found online... I hope it works cause you never know for sure using random schematics you stumble across online.

I'm kind of new to Manhattan style PCB builds, but I'm pretty much sold on this method! It may not be pretty, but so fast in building prototypes, and I like being able to mix and match SMD parts and through hole since I've got a bunch of both in my parts boxes. I use cut pieces of clad pcb board, but I also like to scratch away lines forming islands on the copper surface.

So one question, C5 on the schematic looks like it was added later? I'm guessing that that cap is only connected to the vertical trace that goes to ground. Also would you think all the .1 caps are showing 100pf caps?? Because that's what I'm assuming, and C7 doesn't show any number at all, but I'm also going with 100pf there too. Any further thoughts?

Love the EEVblog! Glad I finally joined!!

« Last Edit: January 18, 2022, 02:22:04 am by Bartronics »

The following users thanked this post: xrunner

Offline fourfathom

• Super Contributor
Re: First post - New RF Sniffer Project!
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2022, 03:40:49 am »
Yes, C5 is connected between switched V+ and ground.  It's poorly drawn on the schematic, but it's a necessary part.
The ".1" caps are 0.1 uF.  Should be small ceramic caps.  100 pF is going to be too small.