Author Topic: General Purpose Power Supply Design  (Read 203656 times)

Offline NewBeginner

• Regular Contributor
Re: General Purpose Power Supply Design
« Reply #275 on: September 04, 2012, 06:14:51 pm »
Bingo, I'm not as silly as I look  :P

BTW, I'm not sure why everyone thinks my supply is locked into using the "exotic" LT3080. You can substitute for an LM317, but then it only goes down to 1.2V which is not a big deal in most cases. Just have to offset the drive voltage by 1.2V. And that aspect can be fixed if you really want.

Dave.

Dave, I know this is an old post but I have one question:
if, in your design, you would replace the LT3080 with an LM317 wouldn't that affect the current limiting feature (especially at low set voltages / low set currents) of your design? Since even if you bring the ADJ pin of the LM317 to ground the output will still be around 1.25V.

I'm a beginner so I may be wrong :) (please don't throw rocks at me  ;D ).

Thank you :)

Offline Kevin.D

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #276 on: September 04, 2012, 06:43:44 pm »
 Well spotted bug ,your right I wreckon . Short that out , and it will  just supply the max current until it folds back .

Offline Kevin.D

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #277 on: September 04, 2012, 07:16:48 pm »
Yes I just tried it ,thats exactly what happens . Thats a severe limitiation of using this current control method then (i.e it doesnt work .) with 3 terminal regulators that dont go down to 0 V .

Offline NewBeginner

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #278 on: September 05, 2012, 06:26:40 am »
Thank you for testing this. It is good to know :).

Offline Thor-Arne

• Supporter
  • tinker - tinker, little noob.....
« Reply #279 on: April 02, 2013, 03:55:58 pm »
I suppose I should wake up this thread again since this is a really interesting design.  ;)