Author Topic: ($40 GPSDO working well now, my mistake)  (Read 61960 times)

Offline tkamiya

• Super Contributor
Mistake on pakrat doc
« Reply #250 on: May 23, 2019, 05:50:06 pm »
This is getting old but I started playing with it again.

On Pakrat documentation, RS232 port has 1 as ground.  This is CD (Carrier Detect) line.  Ground is pin 5.  Oddly enough, it worked either way.  Corrected mine to the right pin.

Offline tkamiya

• Super Contributor
Re: ($40 GPSDO working well now, my mistake)
« Reply #251 on: May 25, 2019, 09:28:22 pm »
I got it to work stably now.  No random disconnects!

Key was temperature variations.  Before, I was testing it with cover open.  It takes forever to heat up and it never actually reached equilibrium.  As temperature slowly rise, DAC value will jump and wobble and causes unlock.  (or at least status other than zero).  I found this while staring at LH display for hours. 

I closed the case.  It went up to 55 degrees C or so fairly quickly and stabilized.  At this point, lock is solid.

I'm surprised how much OVEN XCO got affected by ambient change.  My house is air-conditioned, so variation is like 2C at maximum. 

Offline mark03

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #252 on: May 26, 2019, 01:49:29 am »
I just finished my GPSDO project too:

With the Extron case closed I also get ambient [inside] temperature ~ 50-55 C.  I was worried it could be much higher.  I think this is safe for everything inside.

It would be nice to know the ADEV performance of the finished unit, but this is my only GPSDO and I'm not sufficiently motivated [yet?] to purchase another standard for comparison purposes.  The system integration brings in a lot of noise sources: switching power supplies, Raspberry Pi, etc.  (Interestingly the RPi Zero W connects to my wifi access point just fine with the case sealed  :o)