Author Topic: How to compress the audio output on a signal tracer project? And other questions  (Read 1061 times)

Offline t1dTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Background
This project is to learn with. Meaning, I do not have particular design goals that I want to meet.
I am a hobbyist, with medium skills and a higher-end lab.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DIY signal tracer circuits have a common problem... When you go from probing the input of the DUT's amplifier to probing its output, you get blasted with a loud volume. The traditional solution is to ride the signal tracer's volume knob, while probing with the other hand. This is a poor solution, IMO.

I have not found an integrated solution, on the signal tracer circuits that I have seen. So, I am wondering if there is a traditional solution? Meaning, a method of compression that produces a set volume on the signal tracer's output, regardless of what is going on with the DUT's signal amplitude.

I am also wondering what voltages a signal tracer might need to be capable of reading... The input to an op amp might be as little as 10mV, while the voltages on a tube amp might be hundreds of volts.

Is there a well known, commercial signal tracer that I might use as a model for its abilities, functions and circuit? It would be particularly helpful, if the schematic was available, of course...

Analog and digital solutions are welcome.

Please and thank you, for your help.

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor

Offline t1dTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Here is a schematic for a design that I built to play with. It might be useful for explaining where to insert the compressor.

Offline t1dTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Check the ON Semi SA572:
https://www.onsemi.com/pdf/datasheet/sa572-d.pdf
Thanks, Benta! Good suggestion. Nice component. $5.17USD @ Mouser. I will surely give it a look.

Offline Terry Bites