Author Topic: How would you connect a million+ analog pins? (Seriously)  (Read 51601 times)

Online ballsystemlordTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
How would you connect a million+ analog pins? (Seriously)
« on: February 29, 2024, 03:28:38 am »
When I first started in electronics  (I'm still learning), I had high hopes of being able to fix stuff. People like Louis Rossmann would pull up PCB schematics, and fix stuff while Dave would look at a board and practically be able to tell you what everything is without a datasheet.

Then I found out that Louis purchased schematics, and Dave knows enough to identify most things, but doesn't necessarily how how they're wired up... sadness.

So, I went to look at the PCB factories to see how they tested their PCBs. They have big machines with lots of little wires that move and probe the boards. Now you can imagine that I thought that this was a really great idea, if only I could implement it. Which brings us to this post.

For some time I've been trying to figure out the basic electro-mechanical design. Recently, I finished working on it. And theoretically, it would work.

Now I'm faced with a new problem, how would I connect several million analog pins. They have to be analog, so that I can sense the resistance of the places that they are touching. I wish to probe both new and preexisting/populated PCBs. Even if I used 16pin-input muxes, I'm looking at an amount in the tens of millions of units for a PCB tester able to probe server size motherboards -- and I'd like to be able to do eATX at least.

Is my goal an impossibility? Never!

So, how would you connect a million+ analog pins?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: February 29, 2024, 04:05:35 am by ballsystemlord »

Offline CatalinaWOW

• Super Contributor
Re: How would you connect a million+ analog pins? (Seriously)
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2024, 05:32:03 am »