Author Topic: Increase LTSpice speed for simple circuit  (Read 526 times)

Offline matthuszaghTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Increase LTSpice speed for simple circuit
« on: February 25, 2024, 02:20:46 am »
I'm simulating an AC/DC power supply in LTSpice. I mostly use ngspice, but I'm using some Linear Technology parts and AD doesn't release spice models for a lot of their parts  >:( so I'm using ltspice for this. I'm new to ltspice so I thought I'd run a simple simulation up through the rectifier and filters. This is going extremely slow, though. I'm in the low 10s of ns/s speed range. These sorts of things have always been very fast with ngspice, so I figure I must just be using ltspice incorrectly. Am I (see screenshot)? Would someone mind pointing out my issue. This is running on a modern, fast desktop.

Online moffy

• Super Contributor
Re: Increase LTSpice speed for simple circuit
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2024, 03:07:07 am »
I ran your sim with the generic diodes and ran into the same slow performance when I replaced the diodes with real world diodes (MBR745) the sim was very fast, you might want to replace the generic D diodes.

The following users thanked this post: Ian.M, matthuszagh

Offline RoGeorge

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2024, 03:14:06 am »
Try adding a new spice directive, and type in it:
.options method=gear
https://ltwiki.org/LTspiceHelp/LTspiceHelp/_OPTIONS_Set_simulator_options.htm
If not try .options method=trap

Also, attach the .asc file, so others can run the same simulation as you.

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2024, 03:16:15 am »
Also, attach the .asc file, so others can run the same simulation as you.

My bad - I had this in mind and then forgot. Anyway, here it is.

Offline SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2024, 04:50:23 am »
Use the alternate solver (in Settings/Spice). The sim runs nearly instant with this, and very slow with the "normal" solver.